History of the Hawks

The Boronia Football Club was officially formed in 1932.  However, a team representing Boronia was admitted to the Scoresby Districts Football Association in 1930. A combined Bayswater-Boronia team also played in the same league from 1927 to 1929.  Boronia won three “A” Grade premierships during the 1930’s and one more in 1949 after play was interrupted by WWII.

There were many successful seasons during the 1950’s in the Croydon-Ferntree Gully District League as Boronia undertook six finals campaigns before finally closing out the decade in 1959 with a premiership flag, breaking a ten year drought.

In 1962 the club became one of the founding clubs in the Eastern Districts Football league (EDFL), now the Eastern Football League.  In 1969 Boronia won the E.D.F.L 2nd division premiership, once more breaking a ten year drought.  Then in 1977 the club had a hugely succesful year with all three teams (seniors, reserves and under 18’s) winning the Division 3 EFL premierships. This success was a result of the 1976 “Waverley Invasion”, an initiative of a group of local businessmen, determined to get the club out of 3rd Division, that recruited a number of ex-VFA players from Waverley.

Boronia Football Club Division 3 Premiers 1977
Boronia Football Club Division 3 Premiers 1977

Nine years later in 1986 the club took out the 2nd division senior premiership for the second time.  The club performed well in Division 1 for ten seasons, making the finals five times, but in 1996 the club was relegated back to 2nd division.  It did not take long before Boronia was a force in Division 2 under the coaching of Darren Linkins, appearing in successive grand finals in 1998 and 1999.  2000 saw the re-emergence of the Hawker with a resounding premiership victory out at Waverley Park against Blackburn.

2000 Division 2 Premiers

The cherished return to Division 1 in 2001 was a hard year for the Hawks as many of the premiership players hung up their boots or otherwise moved on.  After winning 44 matches from 54 in the previous three years, Boronia were winless and were relegated again after one year.  The club continued in the doldrums during the next few years and was ultimately relegated once more after only three wins in 2005.

The club has been a regular finalist in Division 3, with the outstanding performances of Dean Grice being a continuing highlight for the Boronia faithful as he won four Paul Edie Medals as the EFL Best & Fairest in Division 3.  There has only been one grand final appearance in that time so the club is now setting itself once again to challenge for the premiership with the tremendous talent still coming through from our junior pathways with Boronia Auskick and Boronia Junior Football Club.  

Boronia Football Club & Boronia Junior Football Club 2015
Boronia Football Club & Boronia Junior Football Club 2015


Team of the Decade ~ 2000 to 2009

Team of the Decade 2000 ~ 2009.001