Boronia Junior History

Courtesy of Boronia Junior Football Club at

The Boronia Junior Football Club was formed in 1972 fielding three teams that season – Under 10, Under 13 and Under 15. Alf Lacey was President and Jen Armstrong was Secretary/Club Treasurer. The Club was originally known as the “SparrowHawks”. Some players from that time are current VETS player in the senior club.

In 1980, there were approximately four or five teams in what was the Knox Junior Football Association (KJFA). At the end of the 1997 season the KJFA was merged with the EDFL to become the Eastern Football League (EFL). During the mid 1980’s the club had a lean patch, only being able to field three teams due to the large number of families’ numbers moving away from the Boronia to the Knox/Wantirna area where the population grew. In those days two or three players were invited up from AusKick to play with the Under 10’s each week, to give them the experience of playing competition football and to get the families inducted into our great football club community.

As we moved through the 80’s and into the 90’s it became more affordable to live in this area and the Boronia Junior Football Club started to recruit young families. In 1989 the Club decided to expand the Member’s Honour Boards and it created the Life Member’s Board in recognition of the Kimmitt Family for their services to the Club. The Best and Fairest Board was also added to the President’s Board.

1972 – Under 10 Premiers (Coach – John Coggins)
1981 – Under 14 Premiers (Coach – Dave Benson)
1990 – Under 15 Premiers (Coach – Laurie Reilly)
2010 – Under 16 Premiers (Coach – David Thornton)
2013 – Under 15 Premiers (Coach – Peter Nardella)

Some of the famous names that started their playing careers at Boronia are:

Adam Heuskes – Brisbane and Port Adelaide
Chris Curran – Collingwood
Rayden Tallis – Hawthorn
Adam Slater – Richmond
Matt Larkin – North Melbourne
Peter Brown – St Kilda
Michael Passmore – North Melbourne
John Holt – North Melbourne
Brendan Mutimer – North Melbourne
Robert Peach – Richmond U19
John Cieslak – Richmond U19
James Ross– Eastern Ranges First Premiership
Rodney Church – Eastern Ranges First Premiership